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Maybe you just started an Instagram account and you’re starting to build up a following. Or maybe you’ve been on Instagram for years and you're looking to take your account to the next level. No matter what stage you’re in within the “Instagram” lifecycle, you’re going to be asking the big question at some point: how do I turn my following and Instagram account into dollars and cents. Even if you didn’t get into this business to make money, putting a little effort behind monetization doesn’t hurt and you'll notice even a tiny bit of effort can go a long way. With that in mind, here are a few clever tricks to get you started.
The above tricks are certainly useful, but don’t forget the #1 rule: create amazing content. After all, no matter how clever you get, all of the “growth hacks” in the world won’t save you if nobody is interested in what you’re writing about. The goods news is that on the flip side, assuming you are creating amazing content, with a few sprinkles of creativity, you should be well on your way to the road of riches in no time.
Partnership marketing is two or more companies working together in a mutually beneficial relationship with the goal of expanding distribution through one or more marketing channel.
If you’re trying to overcome a problem with a romantic relationship, you’re probably going to confide in a close friend or sibling. If you’re having an issue at work, you’re probably going to turn to a colleague and ask them for a hand. And if you need to move apartments next weekend, you probably already hired a moving company weeks ago. So it stands to reason, if you’re trying to increase distribution for your company through marketing efforts, you’re teaming up with other companies that have similar problems and a similar customer base that might be able to help...but are you?
For some reason, people as individuals are excellent at working together to solve any number of problems from moving apartments to putting a man on the moon, but when it comes to companies working together to solve problems that they have a shared interest in, they’d rather work in silos than team up with other businesses that have a vested interest in helping.
Part of the problem is a matter of education, so let’s go through a couple of ways that marketing organizations can and should be working together to gain added exposure in an efficient and cost-effective way.
Affiliates: There are hundreds of thousands of website owners out there that would kill to market your product. And many of them are willing to work on commission, meaning they only get paid when you get paid. Best of all, they tend to have massive distribution networks, and they conveniently all huddle in the same platforms such as Commission Junction and ShareASale. If you're not working with an affiliate platform, you’re most likely going at it alone in an area that you shouldn’t be.
Lead Syndication: There are dozens of lead brokerage companies out there that will do 90% of the demand generation for you and allow you to only pay for the finished product. Take Software Advice for example. Software Advice reviews thousands of products in the tech vertical (example), and then they prompt the visitors to their website to call them for a free consultation. If your product is a fit, team up with them! They’ll sell you perfect-fit leads at a rate oftentimes much cheaper & more qualified than you could have gotten at a conference or through paid advertising. Capterra (example), G2Crowd (example), and FinancesOnline (example) are other examples of great review sites that would love to work with your brand to increase exposure.
Influencer Platforms: For every product, there are dozens of “influencers” on the Internet with the same audience that would be more than happy to evangelize your product for a fee. Similar to affiliates, they tend to have reach in the hundreds of thousands, if not millions of followers, and they all huddle in organized marketplaces such as Upfluence, AspireIQ, and Hypr to name a few. Best of all, similar to affiliates, many of them are willing to work for commission only.
Paid Sponsorships: Most people know about Facebook Ads & Google Ads, but there are dozens of other less common and oftentimes more effective places you can buy media from. For example, let’s say you have a product tailored to startups, you could reach out to “The Hustle,” a company with a massive newsletter that would be more than happy to team up with you. Or Content Recommendation Widgets such as Taboola, Outbrain, or Content.ad. Or Display networks such Adblade, Chitika, or Clicksor. The list goes on and on. All you have to do is look around.
Repixel: Last but not least, if you own a website, you by nature have a trove of extremely valuable data...the people visiting your website! And if you’re an advertiser, you by nature have a honeypot audience that you’d love to serve ads to...people who have visited a website that discusses content related to your product! Repixel.co is a marketplace that allows advertisers to team up with website owners and lets them easily “retarget” their visitors. For example, if you have a workout app and there is a website that reviews workout apps, or sells home gyms, or promotes pre-workout supplements, Repixel allows you to tag the people visiting those complimentary websites and serve them ads on ad network like Facebook ads.
Marketing is tough, and there are without a doubt companies out there that have a similar customer base to you, a shared mission, and/or problems they are trying to solve just like you are. There’s no reason to go at it alone.
11/6/2018 0 Comments
Summary: As an advertiser, you are billed for each page view that the website you're repixeling receives, and Facebook’s match rate is not 100%, so not all visitors will be targetable. In addition, every website has a certain percent of repeat visitors. Please make sure to keep this in mind when setting your daily budget and max CPM bid.
More info: When looking at your Facebook Ads Audience tab, you’ll notice that the amount of data points that you’ve bought from the site owner you're repixeling doesn’t match the number of people in your targetable audience on Facebook. There are two common explanations for this:
1) Match rates. In order for Facebook to allow you to target someone on their platform, they need to know who that person is. But if the visitor to your site owner's website is not logged into their Facebook account when they visit, or maybe they’re not a Facebook user at all, Facebook isn’t able to identify the profile and he or she will not appear in your targetable audience.
2) Repeat Visitors: It’s not uncommon for people to visit a website multiple times, or visit multiple pages of a website in the same session. Facebook will be able to de-duplicate the user's profile in their system, but because Repixel doesn’t have access, we aren’t able to de-duplicate on our end causing a mismatch.
Writing a blog is tough work. You spend hours brainstorming, putting together outlines, writing amazing content, the works, and if you're successful, eventually you might be rewarded with getting a lot of great, quality traffic to your site. Mission accomplished! Well…sort of. There’s just one piece left: monetization. There are a lot of great ways to turn those hard-earned visitors into money, and here are a few of our favorites:
1) Sign on Affiliates: There’s a big world of affiliates out there that want to promote their products and many of them are willing to pay top dollar to get their link(s) on your website. They'll pay you for impressions, clicks, product placements, the works. Sign up for a network such as Commission Junction or ShareASale and watch the proposals start rolling in. As you add links to your website and start generating affiliates & brands revenue, you'll get a piece of the action.
2) Sell Your Own Products: Selling someone else’s product through an affiliate network is a great start, but once you see what works, make your own! For example, let’s say you own a “Food & Drink” blog and you start out by promoting a handful of different products through affiliate networks and you get a 20% cut on all revenue. Once you see a product starting to get good traction, stop promoting theirs and create your own brand to promote and lock in 100% of revenue!
3) Sell Ad Space: Selling ad space is as basic as it comes, but it's one of those fundamental boxes you just need to make sure you're checking. Assuming you don’t have the resources to build out a sales team and bang the phones looking for advertisers, give AdSense by Google a look. You can easily plug into their network (it’s a drop & drop feature on most CMS’s like WordPress), and you can start selling your ad space to their customer’s (which is obviously A LOT of people). As you might expect, they take a cut, but until you have the bandwidth to cut them out, it’s a great place to start.
4) Sell Memberships: Not a fit for every blog by any means, but depending on your niche, customers are oftentimes willing to pay memberships for amazing content, so it’s something to consider.
5) Use Repixel: Once you start selling ad space, you'll soon start to realize that there are only so many ad units you can squeeze into a page without coming across as spammy. There's also only so many offers you can promote, only so many affiliates you can sign on, etc. Every monetization trick is seemingly limited…except for one, Repixel. Repixel is a marketplace that lets advertisers add a snippet of code to your website so they can “retarget” your users, which is just a fancy way of saying they’ll tag your users so they can serve ads to them later. For example, let’s say you run a wine blog. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of wine brands, subscription, and stores out there that would pay a very pretty penny to retarget your visitors. List your website on repixel.co, set your price, and start fielding offers! There’s no limit to the number of people you can let retarget your visitors, and the more that join, the more revenue you can realize from every person that visits your site.
Monetizing a blog isn’t easy, but if you’re up for the challenge, the lifestyle & payoff can be more than worth the effort. Keep plugging away, getting creative, and of course, creating amazing content for your readers.
When it comes to online advertising, any experienced professional will agree that there isn’t a single silver bullet. The only way to figure out what works best for you and your company is to test, test, and test some more. With that in mind, regardless of your role in the Repixel marketplace, it’s difficult to craft a single recipe for success, but below are a few tips & tricks to help you beat the learning curve.
Tips for Site Owners
Tips for Advertisers
One of the very first (and most important) decisions you have to make as a site owner in the Repixel marketplace is how much to charge.
What is a "CPM"?
In traditional online advertising, CPM represents the “cost per thousand impressions.” So if you own a website and you’re selling ad space, if you sell 543,937 impressions to an advertiser at a $6.28 CPM, the advertiser will be charged (543,937/1,000)*$6.28=$3,415.92. In other words, they're buying 543.9 blocks of 1,000 impressions at $6.28 per block.
In the Repixel marketplace, you’re not selling ad impressions, you’re selling the tagging of visitors to your website to be retargeted later, but pricing is set in the same way. So if you get 543,937 visitors per month and your CPM is $6.28, you’ll make $3,415.92 per month per advertiser that is repixeling you.
The advantage of being a site owner in the Repixel marketplace over traditional ad sales is that you get paid by advertisers when they come to your website regardless of if they click on an ad.
What Should I Set My CPM To?
Needless to say, aside from generating more traffic & higher quality traffic, setting your CPM is one of the easiest ways for you to increase your site's profitability on Repixel, so you want to be thoughtful when making the decision. It may be tempting to get a quick win by from your existing advertisers by increasing your CPM, but keep in mind that setting your CPM too high will make you unattractive to new advertisers that otherwise might have wanted to work with you. The best practice is to stay around the average for Repixel’s entire ecosystem (~$1.00) unless you have a very niche product (typically something rare or expensive) or a website with visitors that are close to making a purchase of some kind (i.e. a reviews website), in which case you may be better off charging a bit more.
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For over a year now, advertisers have been able to use just one pixel across their various web properties. For example, if you own a Health & Beauty business with 10 product lines, you could spin up just one Facebook pixel, put it on your various web properties, and easily retarget users who bought your lipstick with your eyeliner and people who bought your shampoo with your conditioner. It’s a powerhouse tactic that’s been picked up by more and more clever marketing teams over the past couple of years. After all, if someone just bought skis yesterday, they’re a near perfect person to show an ad to for boots & bindings. There's a use case for every business.
But there’s no reason to stop there, and companies are quickly expanding their strategies in search of more scale and lower CPA’s. For example, let’s say you own a company that sells in-home workout equipment -- here are a couple of ways that you could take your “external retargeting” strategy to the next level.
Putting pixels elsewhere is a win-win for everyone involved. The site/app owner has an opportunity to generate an added revenue stream that doesn’t include littering their web property with more ad units, and the advertiser gets a killer audience. Publishers are arguably more excited about the trend than advertisers as they’re no longer limited in scale by the number of ad units they’re willing to put to their page and the amount of traffic they can generate. Unlike ads, the scale here is unlimited -- publishers can add 5 pixels to their website and charge what they want, but it’s also no sweat off of their back to add 500 pixels.
It’s no wonder retargeting web properties other than your own is becoming more of a thing. In fact, you might have noticed that even Facebook has picked up on the trend and recently added a “Share Pixel” button right in the UI that allows account admins to transfer data to another advertiser's Facebook account. This means that if publishers already have their Facebook pixel down (which most do), you could not only start building an audience with their new visitors, but you’ll be able to use data retroactively and retarget their users/visitors from the past 180 days (the max cookie-window allowed by Facebook).
And Facebook isn’t alone. Work in B2B? While there isn’t a share pixel button yet, the functionality exists to put your pixel on someone else’s website and retarget their visitors on LinkedIn, as well as a number of other platforms.
If you’re an advertiser or publisher looking for a way to get started at scale, check out repixel.co and sign up for early access. We’re building a marketplace that connects non-competitive companies in the same industry and allows them to easily retarget an unlimited number web properties so you don’t have to reach out to companies 1 by 1. We think it’s the next natural progression in custom audiences, and we’re looking forward to bringing you on.
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Retargeting (also known as remarketing) is a form of digital advertiser where website & app owners tag and then serve targeted ads to users who have visited or triggered an event on their web property.
Repixeling is the act of retargeting someone else’s web property. In other words, you’re not tagging visitors who have visited your website so you can serve them ads later, but you’re instead tagging visitors who have visited a complimentary business’s web property so you can serve ads to them ads later.
Common Use Cases for Retargeting & Repixeling
Let’s say you own a hiking shoe store, and you’ve started running digital marketing campaigns. You realize that 99% of visitors that visit your store don’t buy, so you decide to tag the users who visit your site but don’t purchase and serve those visitors digital ads later. That’s traditional retargeting.
Your retargeting campaigns are extremely effective, but you soon realize that you’re limited in scale by the number of people who visit your website. So you decide to not only start tagging your visitors, but you also contact a local hunting store and place a pixel on their website, the most popular hiking apps and you put a pixel in their apps, and all of the top hiking blogs, and you start tagging and serving ads to those complementary visitors too. That’s called repixeling.
The Benefits of Repixeling
By building alliances with non-competitive companies in the same industry and retargeting their users, you can reach more people that you are certain are in your target market. Because most major ad networks such as Facebook Ads & Google AdWords make you pay for every impression or click that you serve, by repixeling, you’ll tend to see lower customer acquisition costs and higher value from the customers that you acquire, yielding higher ROI campaigns than traditional prospecting.
How Do I Repixel?
The easiest way to get started is to sign up for the Repixel marketplace by going to https://www.repixel.co/. There are tens of thousands of advertisers and thousands of "site owners" (sites & apps that will allow you to repixel their web properties) eager to work with you. The service is just getting rolled out to the masses, but head over now to make sure you get early access.
Site Owner vs. Publisher
There are two sides to the repixel marketplace, the “advertiser”, and the “site owner”. The advertiser is a marketing team or individual that would like to retarget visitors to a certain website or app, and the site owner is the owner of that website or app. In traditional ad sales, site owners are often referred to as “publishers”, but the subtle difference here is a site owner doesn’t necessarily need to publish content. While traditional publishers certainly make great site owners, you don’t have to own a blog, reviews website, media outlets, or really have any content to publish at all to participate as a site owner. For example, a site owner could be the owner of an eCommerce store, a marketplace/exchange, an event aggregator, streaming service, anything! Dicks Sporting Goods wouldn’t be a publisher in the traditional sense of the word, but as long as there are advertisers out there that would want to retarget their visitors (which there certainly are), they can sign up to be a site owner in the repixel marketplace and start generating a new revenue stream.
The Benefits of Being Site Owner
The benefits to an advertiser are clear...a brand new, high-quality audience that you’re able to target. So what’s in it for the site owner? Well, they get paid, of course! Being a site owner is a brand new way for website & app owners to monetize their web properties. As it stands, if you own a website or app, the most common way to monetize your web property is by selling ads. But, you can only add so many ads to the page, which limits web property owner's profits by the amount of traffic they’re able to generate, and the quality of that traffic. Placing an advertisers pixel on your site is something that's tucked away, making the scale limitless. Unlike ad units, there isn’t a set number of pixels you can place on your site or app. Letting five advertisers repixel your website or app is great, but if you’re a site owner, it's no sweat off your back to approve five hundred!
A Recommendation: If You’re a Site Owner, Don’t Put Off Signing Up
Repixel's marketplace is growing fast, but there are far more advertisers joining every day than site owners. That means if you own a website, you’re high demand, which means more action and the ability to set higher prices. The sooner you spin up an account, the sooner you can tap into the line of advertisers waiting to repixel your web property.
Ready to Get Started?
Just head to repixel.co and signup now to get early access. We'll let you know when we're ready for you. In the meantime, get started without us by thinking of a few companies that you'd like to let repixel your site or app. We'll be reaching out for your list soon.
If you’ve made it to this page, you probably know what repixeling is and you’re looking for some clever ways to implement it. If that’s the case, read on. If you don’t yet fully understand what repixeling is and how it works, read this first.
Idea #1: Don’t be Afraid to Look Outside of Your Industry
While you’re at work, it’s tempting to keep blinders on and think about companies that you’ve heard of or have worked closely with, but sometimes the best repixeling opportunities are a bit outside of the box.
For example, if you sell children’s clothes, don’t feel like you only need to stay in the clothing industry. Keep in mind that your target market, parents, buy merchandise in lots of other places as well. For example, you could try repixeling Toys “R” Us, or websites for youth sports leagues, or online video game retailers, and so many others.
Idea #2: Get Really Targeted with Subdomains & Specific Sections of Websites/Apps
While you might think you have a niche business, don’t be too quick to rule out broad websites such as news publications, review sites, blogs, and more, because you can always repixel just a specific section of the site.
For example, let’s say you sell tech gadgets. When scrolling through repixel’s marketplace, your instinct might be to rule out a really general website like the New York Times, but don’t forget that most websites are very well categorized and you have the option to repixel just their technology section. To get even more specific, you can also set “contains” rules while repixeling so you only repixel visitors to pages that contain “tech” and “gadget” in the URL.
Idea #3: Match Specific Ads with Specific Site Owners
Your current ads are great, and the last 10 ad creative tests that you ran lost to your control. You’re just about ready to give up...we get it. But this time it’s different.
If you’re GNC and you’re repixeling people who have been to the weights section on Dick's Sporting Good's website, your ads will probably do great because your audience is aligned. But what if instead of using your standard ad creative you incorporated the fact that you know your audience is not only in the market for GNC, but they also like lifting weights. You could tweak your creative to be even more personalized and write ad creative that reads “Elevate your next weights workout with GNC." Then put a protein shake in the image and let the clicks roll in.
The data is clear on this...the more relevant your post is to your audience, the better your ads will perform. Combine repixeling with tailoring your ad creative to your site owner's visitors in this way and watch your performance skyrocket.
Idea #4: Team Up With Your Site Owner to Create Time Sensitive Deals
If you have a repixeling partner that’s working, don’t be afraid to pick up the phone and see if you can take your alliance to the next level!
Back to the GNC example, what if instead of Dick's Sporting Goods (or in addition to) you decided to repixel Gold’s Gym. With their permission, you could use their brand name and come up with an ad that reads “Sign up for Gold’s Gym and bring in your receipt by June 1st to score 10% off anything storewide!”
This creates urgency to sign up for Gold’s Gym, and it’ll send a flood of really qualified people your way to buy some supplements. It’s a win-win.
Idea #5: Create Lookalikes Off Of Your Custom Audiences
While repixeling allows you to scale far more than ordinary retargeting because there are always more sites & apps to put your pixel on, you can scale even more by using the custom audiences you build to create lookalikes.
In case you didn’t know, on most major ad networks such as Facebook Ads, as your seed list audience updates with new visitors to your site owner's pages, the lookalike will automatically re-calibrate making it much more difficult to saturate your target market.
Idea #6: Use Repixeling As An Exclusion Technique
Repixeling is a great way to find the right people to target with ads, but it’s also a great way to find people that you don’t want to see your ads.
For example, let’s say you own a health foods brand. Repixeling Whole Foods, Dr. Mercola, and NativeCos would be great picks to repixel, but you might want to try to get a pixel on websites that sell cigars and Twinkies as well. It’s probably fair to assume that people on these websites aren’t actively in the market for health foods, so if you can make sure to exclude them for your campaigns you’ll undoubtedly see a bump in performance!
Idea #7: Take Advantage of Big Events
Keep an eye on your calendar for big events going on throughout the year. Websites for big events tend to generate a ton of traffic and a lot of enthusiasm -- the perfect opportunity to make a lot of sales!
- Work in tech? Try repixeling visitors to the biggest tech conference of the year, CES.
- Work in sports entertainment. Repixeling visitors to the Olympics’ homepage or the NFL’s site during the Superbowl would be gold.
- Own a nightclub? Throw a pixel on Mardi Gras related sites or big festivals throughout the year and target those people when they’re in your city with Facebook’s powerful location targeting.
Idea #8: Be Methodical. Test & Learn.
As with everything online advertising related (or really advertising in general), sometimes the things that you test work out, and sometimes they don’t. Make sure you’re creating separate campaigns for each site or app that you repixel. This way if one of your site owners turns out to not be a good match, you can easily pause it before you burn through too much budget. And when you identify a site that’s performing incredibly well, you’ll know about it, and you’ll be able to scale the heck out of it, completely overshadowing any loses.
Have more creative ideas? We’d love to hear them in the comments!
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